Virginia Real Estate Board Educational Requirements
The Virginia Real Estate Board currently requires anyone wishing to obtain a real estate license to complete, with a passing grade, a state-approved 60-hour course entitled “Virginia Principles of Real Estate.” This course covers the principles and practices of real estate as well as Virginia real estate law.
1. The applicant shall have a good reputation for honesty, truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be competent to transact the business of a real estate broker or a real estate salesperson in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of the public.
2. The applicant shall meet the current educational requirements by achieving a passing grade in all required courses of § 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia prior to the time the applicant sits for the licensing examination and applies for licensure.
3. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed real estate broker or salesperson in every jurisdiction where licensed and the applicant shall not have had a license as a real estate broker or real estate salesperson which was suspended, revoked or surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action or which has been the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure in Virginia. The applicant shall be in compliance with all the terms of all board orders, including but not limited to paying imposed monetary penalties and costs, plus any accrued interest and other fees, and completing imposed education.
4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each applicant shall submit to fingerprinting and shall disclose the following information:
a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution or physical injury within five years of the date of the application; and
b. All felony convictions during his lifetime.
Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia.
5. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.
6. The applicant shall have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
7. The applicant, within 12 months prior to submitting a complete application for a license, shall have passed a written examination provided by the board or by a testing service acting on behalf of the board.
8. The applicant shall follow all procedures established with regard to conduct at the examination. Failure to comply with all procedures established with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for denial of application.
9. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the requirements set forth in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this section may be approved for licensure following consideration by the board.
Please be sure you understand the requirements before taking the pre-license education and licensing examination. If you have any questions, please contact the VA Real Estate Board at (804) 367-8526 or visit their website at Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation.
School Attendance | Policies
Live (ZOOM) Classroom Format
Attendance is visually monitored the same as in a physical classroom setting. Students may be removed from the classroom if they are not able to adhere to classroom policies and asked to make up the module on a different date. Students are supplied an Attendance Affidavit at registration. This completed form is required and will be collected after successful completion of final course exams.
VIRTUAL CLASSROOM POLICIES:
1) Students must have the camera on their device turned on during the entire class with face visible (attendance verification requirement).
2) Students should be prepared and logged in at least 5 minutes early so they are ready to begin the class at the designated time.
3) Students should remain stationary in a room free of distractions. For example: No walking, driving, talking on the phone or to someone else in the room, cooking, etc.
4) Students will have their audio off by default. Audio may be enabled on student’s part should they wish to ask or answer a question.
5) Students may type any comment or question in their chat box or enable audio to speak. Questions are encouraged!
Self-paced Online Format
Attendance is tracked through a built-in course timer. An Online Student Affidavit will be provided upon course completion. The completed form is required and will be collected after successful completion of final course exams.
Although our courses and final exams can be completed within 1-2 months, we allow a generous enrollment period.
In-Person/Live Zoom Classroom: Students have a generous six-month enrollment period (beginning with initial course start date) to complete 15 course modules in their entirety and successfully pass the final course exams.
Self-paced Online: Students have a generous six-month enrollment period (beginning with course purchase date) to complete the course and and pass the final course exams. For course completion, all reading sections, questions and quizzes must be completed along with a reached course clock timer of 50 hours (this equates to 60 hours of classroom time allowing for ten minutes breaks). Your course access end date is listed online; it is located on the Select an Enrollment page of your course under the course title.
While course extensions are possible, no course will be eligible for renewal if it has been over a year since original enrollment date.
Learning Format Change:
Students may change from the self-paced online format to the livestream classroom or from the livestream classroom to the self-paced online format at any time during original enrollment period with a transfer fee of $99. Completed credit hours are not transferrable.
Our 100% Pass the PSI Guarantee:
At Advanced School of Real Estate, we are all about your ULTIMATE SUCCESS! Therefore, if you sit for your PSI exam within 30 days of passing your course and do not pass, you are eligible for a livestream (Zoom) classroom retake/refresh at no additional cost.* Students must supply a printout of results from PSI testing center.
If you make a commitment to us, we promise to provide you the education you need to pass your PSI exam and begin your real estate journey.
*Textbook not included
Livestream Classroom: No refunds will apply once registration is complete. In the event you are unable to attend the classroom session date you are registered for, please contact us in order to postpone your session date to any time within one year of original enrollment. Tuition is transferable to another student within one year from original enrollment.
Self-paced Online: No refunds will apply once registration is complete. If course is less than 50% complete, tuition can be transferred to another student within original enrollment period.
Advanced School of Real Estate reserves the right to change our programs and fees at any time.
Students are responsible for scanning any and all downloaded materials received online. Advanced School of Real Estate shall not be responsible or liable for any damage caused by viruses or related hazards.