Frequently asked questions
Well, the answer is ‘YES‘ if you are looking for…
- A good income with unlimited growth potential
- The ability to work from home and make your own hours
- The ability to help people through one of life’s biggest milestones
- Tthe independence of being your own boss
In order to obtain your real estate license in Virginia, you are required by law to take the 60-hour course entitled ‘Virginia Principles and Practices of Real Estate’. This course is designed to prepare the student to pass the Virginia State Examination for licensure as a real estate salesperson.
Topics Covered: Virginia Laws & Regulations, Contracts, Property Ownership and Finance. The course includes the terminology associated with the real estate industry, terms of sales contracts and other documents used to transact real estate business. In addition, students will receive instruction in fair housing and other federal and state laws that guarantee equal rights and protect consumers.
Advanced School of Real Estate offers two education formats to choose from:
Livestream Classroom: Instructor-Led Learning. The live stream online course is led by an instructor and is organized in a live virtual meeting room (Zoom) where students and the instructor meet together to communicate via video conferencing. The course follows a specified schedule and requires students and the instructor to be online at the same time. Follow along in textbook, hear real-life examples and ask questions just as if you were sitting in the classroom.
Self-Study | Self-Paced Online: Text-Based Learning. This is a self-study format. Students learn on their own schedule and can log in and out as desired from home, work or anywhere with internet access. The course is divided into short pages that you click through, and there are periodic quizzes to help you remember what you read. Treated like a 40-hour work week, your education can be completed quickly so you can move on with your new real estate career.
You do not need to be a Virginia resident to get a real estate license in the state.
We have proudly provided excellent Virginia Real Estate Education since 2003 and are approved by the Virginia Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation.
Our classroom is located at 2953 Virginia Beach Blvd., #104, Virginia Beach, VA. However, we are able to offer this course throughout Virginia utilizing our live stream virtual classroom or our self-paced online format options.
The livestream course format consists of 15 four-hour modules. The day sessions run on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 10:00 – 2:00. The night sessions run on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 6:00 – 10:00. Schedule | Livestream Classroom | (advancedschoolofrealestate.com)
The online (self-study) format begins upon registration and can be completed in as little as two weeks or up to six months, your preference.
Although successful completion of Va. Principles of Real Estate can be completed in a few weeks, we offer a generous six-month enrollment period allowing for extra study time, missed classroom session make-ups and successful completion of the final course exam.
Students must be actively engaged in the course for a minimum of 60 hours of “seat time.” Any missed hours can be made up at any time during the course enrollment period. We provide resources to enable students to easily make up any missed modules.
Absolutely! The day and the evening sessions cover the same topics (although they do run on different schedules). Feel free to mix and match as your schedule permits. As long as you sit through all 15 modules in their entirety, you can do so in either the day or night session.
Yes, for success completion of the 60-hour pre-licensing course, there is a required final course exam. Please see ‘Final Course Exam’ under Student Resources tab for complete information.
No, there is no extra charge for our final course exam (s). If students to do pass final course exam on the first try, they may take the exam (s) again with no fee.
Upon successful completion of your final course exam, you will receive a Course Completion Certificate by Email. This certificate must be maintained in your files (Virginia Real Estate Board regulation).
You are now eligible to sit for your Virginia Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Exam. More information can be found on our website under Student Resources.
After successful completion of the required sixty hours of education, you are eligible to sit for your Virginia Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Exam. This exam is administered by PSI Services on a first come/first served basis.
Once your successful course completion results are uploaded to PSI, you may register and schedule your examination at www.psiexams.com. You may also apply by mail and schedule your examination by calling (800) 733-9267. More information can be found on our website under Student Resources.
You can take the Virginia state licensing exam as many times as needed until you pass. You simply have to schedule a new exam attempt through PSI and pay the $60 exam fee for each attempt.
You should only file your VA license application after you have passed the state licensing exam and your fingerprints have been received by the Board (fingerprints cannot be older than 45 days). You must submit your license application within one year of the initial exam date when you originally took the state exam.
If you have a sponsoring broker when it comes time to submit your Virginia Salesperson License Application, the Real Estate Board will issue you an active real estate license.
You must complete sections 12 & 13 of the application, and have your sponsoring broker complete section 18.
Once your application is approved, the Board will mail your active license to your sponsoring broker’s office.
Yes, if you do not have a sponsoring broker when it comes time to submit your Virginia Salesperson License Application, the Board will issue you an inactive real estate license.
Please note, you cannot practice as a real estate salesperson with an inactive real estate license.
If you wish to practice as a real estate salesperson, you must apply for an active real estate license with the help of a sponsoring broker.
If you hold an active Virginia real estate salesperson’s license, you can practice/work as a real estate agent. If you hold an inactive license, you cannot perform any duties that require a real estate license. You must work under a sponsoring broker in order to obtain an active license. If you do not have a sponsoring broker, the Board will issue you an inactive license.
If you are licensed in another state, you can usually apply for a Virginia License by Reciprocity. Here is a summary of how to get a Virginia license by reciprocity (subject to all other requirements).
1. Register for the PSI exam via mail or fax using the registration form found at the end of the PSI Candidate Bulletin. A copy of your current (unexpired) license MUST accompany the registration.
2. Pass the Virginia state portion of the PSI exam.
3. Request a certified copy of your out-of-state license from your state.
4. Obtain proof that you completed 60 hours of real estate education that satisfies the similar to Virginia course requirement.
5. Apply for your license with a licensed broker with the original certification of licensure and proof of education attached.
Please contact the Real Estate Board at (804) 367-8526 for more information.
Yes, we do. You will be well prepared for the Va. Law portion of the PSI Exam with our 20-hour livestream classroom course. More information can be found under ‘Reciprocity’ under the Licensing Info tab in our menu.
Yes, you are allowed to take (and complete) the 60-hour Virginia real estate salespersons course while you are still in high school. The Real Estate Board only requires that you be at least 18 years old and hold a high school diploma (or its equivalent) when it comes time to apply for your real estate license.
Any felony during lifetime or certain misdemeanors may disqualify, but the Real Estate Board makes the final decision. Disclosing this information does not necessarily disqualify you for licensure. On the other hand, a failure to disclose information about any such behavior, with or without any felony conviction, will most likely lead to a denial of license. More information can be found here: https://www.dpor.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/Applicants/Infographic_criminal%20conviction%20apps.pdf
You must disclose any prior criminal activity on your Virginia Salesperson License Application. This means you cannot have the Real Estate Board review your case until you have completed the pre-license education requirements, passed the state exam, and submitted your fingerprints.
A real estate broker holds a license on behalf of a brokerage, and is directly responsible for the supervision and conduct of the brokerage business. A real estate salesperson, on the other hand, is supervised by and works directly for the representative broker.
After 36 months of experience as an active real estate salesperson in Virginia you can apply to become a real estate broker in the state. In addition, you must complete the required 180 hours of course work and pass the state and national portions of the Real Estate Broker examination.